Currently Browsing: David Francey

8th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards) Kicks Off

David Francey, singer-songwriter

David Francey, winner of the 7th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards)

The 8th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards) is currently accepting entries. IAMA promotes excellence in acoustic music performance and artistry. Acoustic artists in various genres can gain exciting radio and web exposure through this competition. Participating sponsors include D’Addario Strings, New Music Weekly, Loggins Promotion, AirplayAccess.com, Sonicbids.com, Reverbnation.com, Kari Estrin Management, SongU.com, Acoustic Cafe Radio Show and Sirius XM Satellite Radio. More sponsors will be announced shortly.

Unlike American Idol, IAMA is open to all independent artists and labels, there is no age limit and people from all countries can enter and best off all entrants do not have to stand in line for hours or days in order to audition. Entrants need to mail in an entry form along with a CD recording or enter online on IAMA’s website.

Win prizes in 8 different categories: Folk/Americana/Roots, AAA/Alternative, Instrumental, Open, Bluegrass/Country, Best Male Artist, Best Female Artist, Best Group/Duo. There will also be an Overall Grand Prize winner awarded to the top winner worth US$11,000, which includes radio promotion to over 250 radio stations in US and Canada. Therefore, winning songs will be heard on radio. Winners and runner-ups will also be featured on IAMA’s compilation CD.

Last year’s winner went to Canadian folk singer-songwriter David Francey who won the overall grand prize as well as the Best Folk Artist. David Francey is also a Juno awards winner (Grammy equivalent) and is a prolific singer-songwriter touring all over North America.

Judging is based on excellence in music performance, songwriting/composition and originality. Winners are selected by a panel of established artists and industry professionals. Other past winners include: Liz Longley (2010 Winner), The Refugees (2009 Winner), UK singer-songwriter Charlie Dore (2008 winner). Charlie Dore is most famous in the United States for her 1980 pop single, “Pilot of the Airwaves,” which hit Top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts and shot to international worldwide fame. Fertitta and McClintock (USA), Jen Foster USA), Mistin’ (Australia), April Verch (Canada) and Millish (USA).

Winners and finalists of the Awards will be featured in the IAMA website and e-newsletters, read by music press, talent buyers, promoters and other industry insiders. All songs submitted must be submitted must be original and submitted online or via CD, the artist may also perform original material not yet released and written by other songwriters or composers. Cover songs are permitted.

Early Entry Bonus: first 1,000 entrants entered by September 9, 2011 will each receive a free gift. Check out:


7th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards) Announced

David Francey

David Francey, Top Winner of 7th Annual IAMA

Scottish-born Canadian, David Francey won top honors at the 7th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards) by winning the overall grand prize as well as the first prize in the Folk category. David also won three Juno awards up to date. Francey also had the honour of receiving the prestigious SOCAN Folk Music Award.

David Francey was born in 1954 in Ayrshire, Scotland, where as a paper boy he got his first taste of the working life. He learned to read at an early age, and by age eleven was devouring the newspapers he delivered. This helped establish his interest in politics and world events while developing the social conscience that forms the backdrop of his songs.

He was twelve when his family immigrated to Toronto. He says he can trace his love of the land, the history, and the people of his adopted country to weekend family drives exploring southern Ontario. Music played a large part in these family outings. They sang traditional Scottish tunes as they drove through the Canadian countryside. Dad and sister Muriel sang melody, while mother and David sang harmonies. His website can be viewed at:

Other notable winners inclue: Justin Rutledge (Canada), Joachim Nordensson & Brooke Wandler (USA), Roland Albertson (South Africa), Luke Doucet & The White Falcon (Canada) and virtuoso guitarist Tim Farrell (USA)

Here is the list of winners of 7th Annual IAMA:

The Waking Hour – David Francey

1st Prize: The Waking Hour – David Francey
Runner-up: Be A Man – Justin Rutledge

1st Prize: I Was With You – Joachim Nordensson & Brooke Wandler
Runner-up: Come Home To Me – Alathea

1st Prize: Broken – Roland Albertson
Runner-up: Last Love – Shane Cooley

1st Prize: Firecracker – Kelly Zullo
Runner-up: Faking Your Best – Suzy Connolly

1st Prize: We Don’t Smell the Home Fires Anymore – Horseshoe Road
Runner-up: What Life’s Like (Without You) – Stewart Burrows

1st Prize: Thinking People – Luke Doucet & The White Falcon
Runner-up: The Beast Within – Reed Waddle

1st Prize: The Most Beautiful Fear – Laura Hoover
Runner-up: Joe’s Bayou – Boomslang Swampsinger

1st Prize: Rosewood Alley – Tim Farrell
Runner-up: Once Upon A Western Sky – John Standefer

Artists are judged based on music performance, music production, artistry and songwriting. For more information, visit:


©2013 www.InAcoustic.com | 2881 E. Oakland Park Blvd, Suite 414, Ft Lauderdale, FL 33306, USA - info@inacoustic.com